OTTB Proud: Meet Our Ambassadors

We love hearing about off-track Thoroughbreds enjoying their new careers, so of course we’re proud to welcome Camile and her OTTB Gentry into our new ambassador program! Camile met Whitehouse Ridge, aka “Gentry” after exercising him for a friend and now shows the 11-year-old in hunter/jumper and dressage.

Camile and Gentry recently got one of our quick change halter bridles to make it easier for them to switch from one part of their training day to the next.

DSC_0172

Q: I remember you said you exercised Gentry for a friend before buying him; what was it about him that made you decide you wanted to work with him yourself?
This first time I had actually met Gentry was on a “field trip” with our 4H team. It was my first year judging and we had traveled out to my current friends place to set up a couple of classes. He was skinny, ugly looking thing that she had been giving time to recoop from his past life. At the time I had no interest in him. It wasn’t until another 2 YEARS later that I went out and visited their place again, this time helping Leeanne’s step daughter (my team captain) with grooming  the ponies. The night before I had found G’s sale ad and fell in love with his movement. (I actually didn’t even know it was the same horse.) This happened to be  the day that somebody was coming and looking at him for  their kid and Leeanne had me work him a little after they left. Fortunately for me, they didn’t like his big movement and declined the sale offer. Later that week, I received a call from her asking if I would like to work him for her, until he sold, for a limited pay. I started working him, with my parents telling me that we weren’t buying the horse, and all of us starting falling for him. He was just so sweet, with his big brown eyes and cowlick of a mane and he always seemed to know what to do even though he was  green. He was so forgiving if you messed up. Before we moved him, mom got on him and she hasn’t ridden in a while, and he took care of her by simply standing there and refusing to move. It was a funny yet kind act. That is what sold us.

Q:What’s your favorite part of Gentry’s personality?
He always tries his best, he gives his whole heart to me. Gentry is just that kind of guy that puts 110% ever time and it makes me  so happy  that I know that he will always try no matter what.

Q:What are your goals for this showing season, and what types of training challenges are you working on?
This year we are focusing on getting his confidence up in the show ring. I plan on showing him in 2ft h/s and eq o/f. Some of our challenges….oh my. Where to begin. You just never seem to be ready for shows. XD Headset is defiantly a struggle as well as keeping the true bend and relaxing  through and over the bridle.

Q:What is it about Two Horse Tack products you and Gentry love?
We love the durability and quality we get out of your products. Gentry is a bit of a mud lover, so it is always nice to have  the tack that will stand up to  his messy habits.

Q:How do you anticipate the quick change halter bridle will be helpful in your workouts?
This will help us in our workouts because I go on a lot of trail rides to build his topline and this product will help us stay clean and look good J Plus, they are malleable and soft on his face.

Follow their journey on their Instagram page, https://www.instagram.com/ottb.gentry/

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 12.29.58 AM

Posted on April 1, 2017, in Our Products and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

